Setting 6


GO6-HC3b, c. 2009

Setting 5


GO4-W1a, 1984

Related Images

Blackstone Audio audiobook, 2006

Ralph Cosham, nar.

GO1-SB1c, 1973

GO6-HC2, 1994.

Setting 1

Setting 3

GO5-HC1a, 1989.

A Grief Observed

Setting 4

GO1-FF1c, 1966

A Grief Observed is a collection of Lewis' reflections on the experience of bereavement following the death of his wife, Joy Davidman, in 1960. The book was first published in 1961 under the pseudonym N.W. Clerk as Lewis wished to avoid identification as the author. Though republished in 1963 after his death under his own name, the text still refers to his wife as “H” (her first name, which she rarely used, was Helen). The book is compiled from the four notebooks which Lewis used to vent and explore his grief. Seven settings of the work currently exist. 

Follow a link to view specific setting and edition information:      Settings 1-3 Details     Settings 4-7 Details

GO-BN1b, c. 1980.

GO1-SB1a, 1963

GO1-FF1b, 1964

GO6-HC3c, 2015

Also found in COL-SC, 2002

GO-BN1a, 1976.

GO1-SB1b, 1964

HarperAudio audiobook, 2014

Douglas Gresham, nar.

Setting 7

GO2-FF2, 1966

GO6-HC3a, 2001


GO1-FF1a, 1961

Setting 2